top of page
  • Kris O'Neill

Jenny's Countdown to Christmas ~ Final Thoughts

Hi everyone! I wanted to provide you with a recap of Jenny's Countdown to Christmas box through the Missouri Star Quilt Company (MSQC).


Here is my video with a follow-up. I don't cover all of the data in the video, so please read the rest of this blog for the complete breakdown.


Video will be available at 9am EST.


So, what it worth it? Let's discuss the data.


First, here is a spreadsheet my husband and I (mostly my husband 😀) put together. We decided to give each item a price or value range. Example: patterns range from $0.00 - $10.00, with the average being $5.00. Make sense? If not, hopefully the spreadsheet helps explain it.


Here is the spreadsheet:




Quick breakdown:

Number of Items in the Box: 42

Total Cost of the Box: $160.00

Average Cost per Item: $160.00 divided by 42 = $3.81


Overall Price Range/Averages:

Low Range: and $174.48

High Range: $453.46

Average of these two: $313.96

My calculated value: $307.98--Not too shabby, if I do say so myself! :)


Items per Category:

Branding: 7 (17%)

Tools: 9 (21%)

Patterns: 7 (17%)

Materials/Consumables: 14 (33%)

Unrelated to Quilting: 6 (14%)


Let's just talk about that last line--UNRELATED TO QUILTING--this is a whooping 14%! I think this is high. I mean, MSQC is a quilting company! Their customers ARE quilters! Why would any of it be unrelated to quilting? This is baffling to me. That said, I am not on their marketing committee. Maybe they know something I don't know. Something to consider.


As for materials/consumables, only two items contained fabric! ONLY TWO! And one of those two were four strips of fabric. Overall, there was less than a yard of fabric in this entire box! Come on, MSQC, do better.


My Favorite Items:

Day 2: Charm Pack

Day 3: Pillow Pattern

Day 5: Tumbler (I LOVE this! Even though it is a branding product and even though it isn't fabric)

Day 11: Keychain Pattern

Day 20: Pop-Up Pattern/Kit


Things I didn't know but I do now:

Day 8: Soap

Day 14: Strips/Mini Quilt Pattern

Day 16: Socks


Things I thought I would love but don't:

Day 9: Scissor (they are not very sharp)


My Biggest Pet Peeves:

  1. Not enough fabric! Do better MSQC!

  2. Day 14: The pattern called for a tool that did not come with the pattern. I found a work-around, but I am sure there are some who had to buy the pattern. This is the equivalent to getting a new toy for Christmas and not having the batteries. Whomp, whomp.

  3. Day 22: The thing no one mentioned! In the pattern for the Periwinkle Coasters, the pattern tells you to cut fusible batting 1/4 smaller for the center. Neither the pattern nor the free video tutorial mentions how to do it! This REALLY bugs me. This isn't an easy task. Give us some tips, MSQC! Again, I have been sewing a long time--I found a work around--but others may not know how to do this. Please do not set up makers for failure. It isn't nice.

Overall, I did like this box, even with the disappointments and with the pet peeves. I will be getting it again. Will you be purchasing this box?




915 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page