top of page
  • Kris O'Neill

Week 15: BUTTONS! Sewing Organization Challenge

Just to recap: During the month of June, we are doing to be talking about Findings. I am defining sewing findings as small objects and accessories we would use in sewing. Items include buttons, snaps, zippers, hardware, and more.

 

My Love of Buttons

Awww, buttons! I just love buttons! I can remember sifting though my grandmother's button tin looking at the amazing colors, feeling the smooth textures, finding the shiniest buttons, and even smelling that distinct smell that seems to be only present in old button boxes.



This has to be where my button obsession started, right? Adding to this, my Aunt Amy collected buttons and would make these really unique broaches out of old buttons. When I was a teen, I remember admiring the creativity and loving the pins. I still have some today.


But how do we organize them? Because they hold such a special place for me and because I am in the process of designing my sewing room, I am going to display my buttons in jars but color. As many of you know, that is my preferred method of organizing. Rainbows of color around my sewing room will bring a brightness and joy to my space. I can't wait to see it come all together.


I started my hunt for the perfect jars a few weeks ago and ended up finding them at Hobby Lobby. I sorted my buttons by color and filled the jars.

They just make me happy to look at!


How to you organize your buttons? Do you have fond memories like me?

Here is this week's video:



This week's tasks:

  1. Find your buttons. Most people have a. button container or tin, or at least those I have spoken to do. If so, you may already have them in one place. If you do, make sure there are only buttons in the container. I know I tend to just toss whatever into the containers.

  2. Sort and containerize! Find a way that makes sense to you to organize these little gems. Could you display them like I am going to do? Or just have a button box ready when you need a button?

  3. Share your buttons. If you have a young person in your life (not too young--these can be a choking hazard), I encourage you to allow the child to go through your buttons. It is amazing to me the power they old.

  4. FUN Task: Make something out of the buttons!

29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page